Widgets Magazine
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2022 Drought?

Default 2022 Drought?

I'm no weather expert. But from what I read it looks very possible we are possibly entering into another season of drought.

If you look at areas in western Oklahoma, Texas panhandle into New Mexico the lack of meaningful rain is excessive. If this weather pattern is stuck in a 'no rain' pattern -one would hope those who monitor local water supplies would begin to prepare the public for water rationing soon.

I would hope we'd have enough foresight to prepare for drought instead of panicking while in the middle of drought.

Default Re: 2022 Drought?

Southern Plains will almost always be entering into or leaving a drought. It’s just the “feast or famine” nature of our precipitation patterns. Very rare to get consistent rainfall in Oklahoma. As I’ve mentioned occasionally in some of the monthly weather threads, my personal opinion is that Oklahoma is pretty much the battleground between the eastern half of the country trending wetter over the last decade, and the western half of the country trending drier during the same timeframe. If that trend continues, IMO, it could be a cause for concern with regards to fire weather in this state as our wet periods trend wetter, leading to increased plant growth which could then turn into increased fuels for wildfires if our dry periods trend drier. You saw a classic example of this cycle occur in Colorado during the lead-up to the catastrophic Marshall Fire last December which destroyed over 1,000 homes in suburban Denver/Boulder. This fire was exacerbated due to a very wet spring followed by a very dry summer/fall in that part of the country which led to the pattern I mentioned a few sentences ago.