Widgets Magazine
Page 1 of 14 123456 ... LastLast

Thread: Kroger

Default Kroger

Anyone know why a Krogers affiliated store isn't in our market?

Default Re: Krogers

Quote Originally Posted by JDSooners View Post
    Anyone know why a Krogers affiliated store isn't in our market?
    I graduated from high school with David Dillon, who was the CEO of Dillons/Krogers. I believe he is retired now. I last save Dave at our 40yr class reunion. At that time he was CEO and living in Cincinnati, hdqrs of Krogers. He has since back back to Hutchinson, I think. His grandfather started the Dillons stores in Sterling, Ks, many years ago. They, Dillons were hdqrd in Hutchinson. They were then bought out by Krogers and much of the operation went to Cinci. Anyway, I asked him at our last class reunion if they would ever be coming into Oklahoma, and, he said at that time just didn't seem to be a good fit for them. Whatever that means. IDK?

Whether we like it or not, Kroger is decidedly middle-market. It's not trying to be a deep discounter nor is it trying to compete with Whole Foods on wagyu beef, kale chips, and quinoa. The average Kroger reminds me of a slightly upscale Homeland, and we've seen that Homeland has been reeling a bit in OKC. Kroger is also similar to Homeland in that it allows certain stores to age rather disgracefully. Although it seems like that is a choice driven by the level of competition faced in each market.

In any event, It's just tough sledding for any grocer trying to thread the needle between discounting and selling rare granolas. When you add in OKC's commodity risk, it's easy to appreciate the CEO's concerns about fit.

And yet Crest seems to be doing quite well, and Winco, though it may settle down in time, is off the charts. I think the 'risk' in OKC is if you half-ass it like Homeland, so if that's what Kroger would do, then yeah, I can see why they're afraid.

Quote Originally Posted by stile99 View Post