Widgets Magazine
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: 39th Street Aerial 4/4/76

Default 39th Street Aerial 4/4/76

This has special meaning to me because I graduated from Putnam City in 1978, so this photo was from the spring of my sophomore year.

I did my best to label it -- everything noted has been verified through the County Assessor and/or old ads.

Thought others might enjoy seeing it, because it was the hey-day of all food places and was still the place to cruise.

Anybody remember the name of the small restaurant on the NE corner of Ann Arbor & 39th? Think they served steaks? It's a Taco Bell now.

In fact, absolutely none of these places are in business any more.

Default Re: 39th Street Aerial 4/4/76

Wow, that does bring back memories. I graduated from Yukon in '78. We didn't get a McDonalds until the fall of '77 or early early spring of '78 as it opened during the late part of my senior year. Thus, we didn't have much in Yukon other than Sonic, Pizza Hut and Ken's. We had another small drive-in but I cannot remember the name. So a lot of us would cruise 39th on Friday nights because of the presence of more food joints. Taco Bell was one of our favorites. And I wish I had a dollar for every round of golf I played at that Putt-Putt. We were there a lot. Thanks for posting this photo.

Just figured out the restaurant on the NE corner of 39th & Ann Arbor was Larry's Steak House.

Here's a photo of that Putt-Putt. Spent many hours there myself:

I remember that putt-putt! Only because, I would climb over the orange fence and go play on the tracks behind the place. Big rail fan.

Nice pic and nice memories as well especially the putt-putt along with cruising up and down 39th st.
    Wasnt Bonapartes the place where you could order your food from your table via the telephone?

Wasnt Bonapartes the place where you could order your food from your table via the telephone?
    That was Across the Street.

Bonaparte's was a drive-in.