Widgets Magazine
Page 1 of 138 12345651101 ... LastLast

Thread: Southside OKC Memories....anyone?

Default Southside OKC Memories....anyone?

I LOVE the OKC Memories thread, and have so enjoyed reading everyone's thoughts and memories of our wonderful city!

My husband and I both grew up as "southsiders" but have since defected and moved north to satisfy our desire for an historic home. It doesn't hurt, either, that we are now each 5 and 7 minutes respectively from our jobs.

My husband's late father was a family practice physician on the southside and one of the founding doctors of what was once called South Community Hospital (since rechristened Integris Southwest).

I graduated high school in 1978 and my husband graduated in 1973 (Christian Heritage Academy and U.S. Grant)

Here are some "southside" memories that some of you may share:

- Al & Dub's drive in on SW 44th (the "Grant hangout"). This was really more in my older siblings' eras - the early 60's. I believe Wilkerson's was the "Capitol Hill hangout". In those days, it was kind of a "greasers vs. the socs"

- When the 14 Flags drive in was at the end of the world, or so it seemed?

- Crystal's Pizza after games.

- Cruising McDonald's and Sonic on SW 59th Street until all hours

- The Park Terrace Theatre (and El Rancho Sanchez, right next door)

- Parking lot carnivals at Reding Shopping Center (now the Integris SW parking lot)

- Christmas shopping at Sears at 44th and Western

- When Crossroads Mall was brand new and THE place to be!

- The tragic Sirloin Stockade murders. I remember a big Help Wanted sign going up in front of the restaurant a couple of weeks after the murders. it was a portable sign on the side of a large plastic steer

- The opening of the "Big TG&Y" as we called it at I-240 & Penn. I was there as a small child with my older sisters, when "Dandy" Don Meredith of the Dallas Cowboys was there signing autographs.