View Full Version : Be on TV show "That's Clever"

redcup
04-06-2007, 10:01 PM
Not sure where to post this so let me know if I need to request that it be moved to a better venue. Please read below. I thought someone might be interested and want to apply.

I am a producer for the Home and Garden Television show, "That's Clever!". I'm searching for unique visual artists and crafts people in the Oklahoma City area to profile on the upcoming fifth season of our show, and I thought that you might be able to help us out.

If you're not familiar with us, we are on the cable channel HGTV, and we highlight the contemporary crafting scene all over the US -- from Portland, Maine to Portland, Oregon. In each episode, we visit three different artists/crafters in their own homes and studios who take us through a favorite (pre-determined) piece. Projects have included glasswork of all kinds, fabric art like quilting and knitting, ceramics, metalwork including blacksmithing, leather, woodworking, mixed media, all kinds of sculpture, paper crafting and more!

I know you work with a lot of local artists, so I was hoping that you would be able to help us get in contact with as many of them as possible. And I should mention that we aren't able to feature poetry, writing, film/video projects, etc. The visual arts we feature are typically 3-D objects, although we also get into some mixed media type 2D projects. Mostly we are looking for engaging artists and crafts people who are obviously high energy and would be comfortable on camera showing us how to make one of their projects. And I'm not necessarily seeking "full time" artists -- hobbyists, art students and up-and-comers appear on our show regularly, along with full time artists.