View Full Version : www.secondlife.com

metro
03-20-2007, 02:37 PM
I was just wondering what you "techies" knew about secondlife.com and other virtual world websites. Do you see this as the future trend and what all do you know about stuff like this. I know some but not much as I am new to it.

windowphobe
03-20-2007, 05:26 PM
Virtual environments of one sort or another have existed for decades; it was inevitable that one or more of them would get to this level eventually.

In general, I prefer not to participate - I simply don't have the time at this point - but I endorse the concept: where does it say that we have to spend our entire lives in one single world?

metro
03-20-2007, 06:45 PM
Yeah, I knew they existed for years such as the "SIMS", etc. but the level that they are at now just blew me away. I did not know such things existed as they do. I've been reading about them quite a bit today and am blown away with the whole concept and what people are doing out there. I was introduced to the idea by my church who recently started a beta campus on SL. I found out about it coming across a blog. For more info you can see the lifechurch.tv thread in the religion section of this website.

windowphobe or others, do you see this trend continuing and becoming the norm? even for businesses, etc.? I was blown away how much time people are spending in virtual worlds and what they are doing there.

This following excerpt is from a techy blog: You can even pay real money to get virtual money that can be spent on virtual land and other virtual things. In the last 24 hours over $1.5 million in real money was spent on Second Life! That’s truly astounding!

CMSturgeon
03-22-2007, 03:43 PM
I thought the secondlife idea was cool until I realized it cost me real money. No thanks.

windowphobe
03-22-2007, 05:42 PM