View Full Version : Metro area Realtor pleads guilty!

metro
12-14-2006, 07:45 PM
I know when I was a Realtor a few years back, she sure thought she was "it".

Prominent Realtor pleads guilty in real estate fraud

By Richard Mize
Real Estate Editor

Prominent Edmond Realtor Ann Campbell pleaded guilty Wednesday to a federal felony charge of conspiracy to commit wire fraud in connection with mortgage fraud in the sale of a home in Edmond's upscale Oak Tree addition.
U.S. District Judge Joe Heaton will sentence Campbell, 66, later. The charge carries a penalty of up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000.

Campbell, as a longtime top-producing Realtor in the Oklahoma City metro area, is the best known of several people involved with the scheme. She was not available for comment after her court appearance, but she remained free after posting a personal recognizance bond.

Campbell could lose her state-issued real estate license, according to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, which is conducting its own investigation. No hearing has been set, Executive Director Anne Woody said.

Campbell also probably will lose her membership in the Edmond Board of Realtors, Oklahoma City Metro Association of Realtors, Oklahoma Association of Realtors and National Association of Realtors, said Walter Moloney, spokesman for the national group in Washington.

"That's definitely a violation of the (Realtors) Code of Ethics,” Moloney said Wednesday afternoon, noting that it would be up to Campbell's main local board to consider any ethics complaints and take any action against her Realtor membership.

John Rice, president of the Edmond board, said he did not know of any ethics complaints made against Campbell. Mike Cassidy, president of the metro area association, could not be reached.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Susan Cox, reading from court documents, summarized the scheme before Heaton accepted Campbell's plea.