View Full Version : Stigma of mental illness

Jack
03-06-2006, 09:36 AM
How do you view people with mental illness? Do you view it like any other illness, or do you just consider them to be crazy?

Patrick
03-06-2006, 03:27 PM
Jack, this is a good question. Being a medical student, I always get really ticked when people refer to people with mental illnesses and psychos or crazies. IMO, it just reveals their ignorance about mental illness. For example, my sister in law has a friend that lives down the street from her that has bipolar disorder....poorly treated, I suppose, because she's constantly having mood swings. My sister-in-law always refers to her as the crazy lady. I personally think this is so wrong. Again, it simply displays her ignorance on the issue. The lady is not crazy, and she's not psycho. She simply has a malfunctioning brain, due to an improper balance of brain chemicals. Bipolar disorder is commonly caused by a hyperfucntioning dopaminergic system, which is completely biological. Only was to treat it is with a mood stabilizer like Lithium, an anticonvulsant like Depakote or Lamictal, or an atypical antipsychotic like Zyprexa or Risperdal.
Bipolar is almost 100% genetic.

Faith
03-06-2006, 03:48 PM
Isn't bipolar when you brain has a decrease in dopamine (sp?). And then parkinsins (sp?) disease is when you have too much dopamine in your brain.
Sorry for the spelling.

On Topic - Of course society places a stigma on people who have mental illnesses. It can go either way. People can treat you like you are just crazy or they can treat you like you are normal because they can't "see" your illness with their eyes like physical illnesses.

writerranger
03-06-2006, 04:00 PM