View Full Version : Favorite Money Saving Tip?

Karried
02-03-2006, 09:27 AM
What is your best tip for saving money?

Do you use coupons? Entertainment books?

I know eating at home and bringing lunch instead of eating out saves a lot of money.. but I love to eat out occasionally, so that one is a hard one to adhere to.

I guess my best tip would be to raise your deductible on insurance to get a lower annual premium.. put aside the amount of your deductible in savings (earning interest) in case of emergency. If your deductible is raised to $500 or $1000. you will have extra money per month to put into savings and use if needed.

The thing about insurance ( and I'm no insurance expert - check with your agent) is that if you make a small claim they tend to hold it against you.. so if you have a $250 deductible and you are paying more per month and per year and you make a claim, the premium will still go up. So, it makes sense to pay less per year, keep insurance costs down and don't make a claim unless it's a large loss. And of course, drive carefully and be safe!

Share with us!

Give your best tips for saving money.

Todd
02-03-2006, 09:34 AM
Never pay for meat again.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/cornwall/4660060.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/cornwall/4660060.stm)

Todd
02-03-2006, 09:37 AM
His argument is that it's healthy, organic meat with nothing artificial added.

Midtowner
02-03-2006, 09:38 AM
Generally, I try not to spend more money than I make.

It's a good rule of thumb.

Karried
02-03-2006, 09:45 AM
Midtowner, Yes! If only more parents taught their kids that!

Credit card abuse ruins more lives ..

I use my ATM all of the time and I try to tell my kids, this is not a credit card... this comes right out of the checking account. I'm so afraid that they will think everything is going on a credit card to be paid off later and accrue interest - NO!!!

I think classes should be mandatory for high school students - discussing credit and savings..