View Full Version : Message from a Hornet player

Patrick
01-15-2006, 11:54 PM
First, thanks to my computer geek bud who has set this up and allowed me to make a statement here. Thanks too for his spell check help and his help phrasing this to where it makes sense. I wish I was better at this, but it is not my "thing".

I've never done this before. Actually, we are not _supposed_ to do this, but my bud has fixed this so it supposedly can't be traced. I just feel it's important this be said and that people calm down Way down.

Here is the deal and what I want to say...

I play for the Hornets.

Let me make this clear: I love New Orleans. I love the people of Louisiana.

Let me make this clear: I love Oklahoma City and the people of Oklahoma.

There was talk among my mates that this NO-OKC thing is getting ugly on the fan boards. I took a look while and have to agree and plead for everyone to take it easy. I was saddened. Please, let's calm down and take it easy. Please.

The comments from some that the "black players" do not want to play in Oklahoma City are *completely false*. Yes, we would like to be in NO, the way NO was a year ago. However, as sad as it is to so many of us, NO is *not* NO of a year ago. OKC is OKC and it's a great city that has been a huge surprise to many of us. Welcoming us not only as players, but welcoming us as people. Into their churches where we have been made to feel very welcome. Being good to our families and supporting many of us through tough times emotionally.