View Full Version : What causes a vertical crack in sheetrock

SSEiYah
07-08-2018, 02:46 AM
I bought a fairly new house, recently, ~10 years old. A big 9 foot tall narrow crack appeared from the floor to the ceiling in the last week or so in the living room. The crack is the same width on the floor as it is on the ceiling, about 1/16th of an inch. No other cracks in the house, the brick is fine on the outside. I'm just wondering what causes these types of cracks. It seems like a horizontal shift in the house occurred, but I dont know why.

stile99
07-08-2018, 06:12 AM
The easy/engineering answer: stress. But I suspect you're really asking about the source of the stress, in which case there's not really an easy answer. Foundation issues? Earthquakes? Really strong winds? We have those last two in abundance around here. I'm by no means a construction expert, but being that close to a corner my first thought would be someone did a half-assed job.

Jim Kyle
07-08-2018, 06:25 AM
Quite possibly a foundation issue. Much, if not most, of the residential construction in these parts for the last 50 years or more has been based on the concrete slab. While the slabs are quite sturdy against many factors, they DO have a tendency to crack if the ground settles beneath them -- and our temperature and precipitation extremes do cause the underlying soil to shrink or expand over time.