View Full Version : Heating a home during extremely cold weather

BBatesokc
01-01-2018, 08:13 AM
Just wondering, what should a home owner's expectation be of their heating unit during really cold weather like we are getting now?

Or, in other words, how much warmer than the outside temps should you be able to keep your house without the heating unit running non-stop 24/7?

I know there are several variables (house size, heating unit size, insulation, etc.) but when it's 4-degrees outside and you set your thermostat at say 67, is it reasonable to expect your heating unit to be able to keep your house at that temp without running 24/7 non-stop? Actually, our's is running continuously now and only maintaining about 64.5 degrees (2,400 sq feet, two stories).

We have a heat pump (which may be the biggest reason it's working harder in these temps)

Thomas Vu
01-01-2018, 08:47 AM
I don't know much about it, and my 2 cents is poor insulation.

mkjeeves
01-01-2018, 08:50 AM
I'm not an HVAC professional but here's what I understand...systems are supposed to take into account heat loss, air infiltration for the house construction and be sized to maintain a house at 70 degrees when the outside temperture is at the design temperture for the location. For Oklahoma City, that is 13F at the low end, 97 at the high end. If the designer hits the calculation of heating loss and furnace size required right on the money for the minimum size, it could run continuously when it's 13F outside to keep your house at 70F inside. If larger than required it will run less often but if too oversized, it will cycle too frequently in milder temperaturers and be less efficient than if sized correctly. I think that also means when it's 5F outside you might only be able to maintain 62F inside.