View Full Version : SSN required for mailbox rental?

TheTravellers
12-05-2014, 05:04 PM
Private company mailbox rental (not USPS) needed my SSN today, kept on a form in the back room, not on any computer, said the USPS required it. Don't believe they require that info, anybody know any different? Thanks...

Pete
12-05-2014, 05:28 PM
That makes zero sense.

No way would I give them that info.

tfvc.org
12-05-2014, 07:26 PM
I think you can thank Bush for that one. They also require a physical address and photo ID now as well. Before 9/11 It wasn't required. I have been using PO boxes for 15-20 years, and it wasn't as strict before Bush enacted his homeland security laws. That way anything suspicious going to that box can be traced to you.

kevinpate
12-05-2014, 07:50 PM
The USPS postal box application for a box from them does not ask for a SS number. As to acceptable forms of ID to show when renting a PO box, the instructions add this note:

ID REQUIRED
Whether you apply online or at a Post Office, two valid forms of identification are required when you obtain your keys or
combination at the Post Office where your box is located. You must present the IDs at a Post Office. One item must contain a photograph
and one must be traceable to the bearer (prove your physical address). Both must be current. Acceptable forms of ID include:

Photo Id Options:
■ Valid driver’s license or state non-driver’s identification card
■ Armed forces, government, university, or recognized corporate identification card
■ Passport, passport card, alien registration card, or certificate of naturalization

non-photo Id Options:
■ Current lease, mortgage, or deed of trust
■ Voter or vehicle registration card
■ Home or vehicle insurance policy

note: Social Security cards, credit cards, and birth certificates are not acceptable forms of ID.

source: http://about.usps.com/forms/ps1093.pdf

Postal Annex private boxes do not require a SS number either