View Full Version : Bishop McGuinness files Lawsuit against OSSAA

Tydude
09-08-2014, 12:25 PM
Bishop McGuinness files lawsuit against OSSAA | News OK (http://newsok.com/article/5339998)

jerrywall
09-09-2014, 08:58 AM
OSSAA is reaching a turning point soon, I think. Many of the public schools in OK have had problems with them in recent years, and now the private schools are having problems as well. I expect some changes, or creation of new high school athletic organizations soon.

bucfan1512
09-09-2014, 10:21 AM
I graduated from Mount St Mary High School which is the other catholic high school in Oklahoma City in 2006 when there were rumors of a rule like this. I read through some of the comments and its basically a war zone but some points are just silly. Saying all private schools should play each other is not a solution as most are much smaller than Bishop. My school has maxed out there enrollment at 350 because they don't have any more room for lockers. I think the problem is that there are several stereotypes about private schools that people need to realize are not true.

1.) They recruit. Bishop and MSM do not give out scholarships. Both offer work programs that instead of paying the student their tuition is directly reduced. That means during the summer when most kids are having fun, some of the kids the public schools claim are on scholarship are working at the school.

2.) The rich entitled brats. My parents mortgaged our home some my sister and I could attend private school from K-12 and it had a giant impact on how I developed as a person. Certain districts in OKC just don't come close to the standards some parents want for their children. Especially in south OKC where I am from.