View Full Version : What a bass akward law......

Achilleslastand
07-02-2014, 11:24 AM
So one of our Cocker Spaniels who is elderly started Phenobarb about 6 months ago for seizures. Im pretty sure not to long ago this used to be dispensed at your local vet but now has to be called into a CVS or pharmacy of your liking. Today the script ran out so CVS has to contact the vet to get a refill faxed over. The Vet then calls me and says it is state law that we need to see your dog again before we can write another script or risk being fined several hundreds of dollars.
My God what a pain in the keester.......

Eddie1
07-02-2014, 11:35 AM
I'm a physician and this is not unreasonable to see you dog (as I would a human) every 6 months to see how the dog is responding, check for side effects and possibly check a random phenobarbital level, there is a method to our madness.

Achilleslastand
07-02-2014, 11:40 AM
I'm a physician and this is not unreasonable to see you dog (as I would a human) every 6 months to see how the dog is responding, check for side effects and possibly check a random phenobarbital level, there is a method to our madness.

Well my problem isn't with the Vet nor their policies. It is with the state and their heavy handed intrusiveness.

ljbab728
07-02-2014, 08:55 PM
Well my problem isn't with the Vet nor their policies. It is with the state and their heavy handed intrusiveness.

It seems reasonable to me. It is a barbiturate. In theory, without a law like this, someone could get a subscription for a dog who later dies and continue to get it to use for dangerous purposes.

SoonerDave
07-02-2014, 09:22 PM