View Full Version : #OKC2SEA: The Big Move

CuatrodeMayo
05-07-2014, 09:58 AM
(I had intended to post this 2 or 3 weeks ago, but in the business of moving, I never got the chance. I'm actually here now in Seattle. Those of you who are friends with me on facebook or follow me on twitter & instagram probably already know this, lol.)

When I graduated from OSU it was my intention to leave the state for a while. My wife and I had both grown up in Oklahoma and lived here our entire lives to that point. Our desire was to live and work in a large city, particularly, NYC. Since it was 2008, the recession was just beginning and most east coast architecture firms were not in expansion mode. As a result thee few interviews I landed didn’t pan out.

In light of the impending economic downturn, I decided to stay in Oklahoma City.

Admittedly, I was not entirely thrilled with being “stuck” in OKC, but I resolved to make the best of it. In the time I have been here I have experienced first-hand the dramatic transformation of our downtown including the first significant skyline addition in my lifetime. I have witnessed the arrival of the NBA and the way it has brought the people of this city together. I have seen districts come alive and inner-city neighborhoods make a come-back. I have even had the opportunity to participate in the shaping of our city through Better Block, the boulevard conversation, and this site.