View Full Version : May 3rd, 1999 tornado.

Tylerwilliams16
05-03-2014, 01:48 PM
15 years ago today, a massive F5 tornado ripped throughout Bridge Creek, Moore, Del City, and Midwest City. Where were you when the tornado was occuring???

Easy180
05-03-2014, 01:55 PM
On the north side OKC thankful it stayed south. Now that I live near Moore I root for them to stay even further south.

SOONER8693
05-03-2014, 03:40 PM
In the closet, under a stairway, in our house on SW 128th st, 2 blocks directly south of Westmoore High School. In the span of about 30 seconds, all of that house was gone, except that closet. Myself, wife, 7 year old daughter and our 2 week old puppy. It was a humbling, life changing experience. To top it off, it was my birthday. Happy birthday to me.

OKCisOK4me
05-03-2014, 03:45 PM
I was a sophomore at OSU--pretty much my last semester there cause I was a horrible student. Nonetheless, a buddy of mine came up to kick it. I remember that storm specifically because we were driving south on Perkins and you could see that storm off to the southwest. It was massive! We went back to the dorms and watched the live media coverage which ensued.

Besides that storm there were something like 70 other tornadoes that day and night. There were also the tornadoes that hit Piedmont and Mulhall. There was also a wall cloud that went over Stillwater and dropped a twister north of town. I only remember that because we went to go get Whataburger but they closed down because the tornado sirens were going off. Since we were in the drive thru and they were closing we decided to chase the tornado but it was hauling pretty fast to the NE and we weren't all about chasing with our only source of visual aid being lightning!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PennyQuilts
05-03-2014, 04:08 PM