View Full Version : Facebook Filtering

RadicalModerate
03-26-2014, 06:23 AM
Did anyone else read Steve Lackmeyer's article in the Oklahoman the other day regarding Facebook cutting off the flow of postings from various business sites to "followers'" timelines? I don't play with Facebook much, but I noticed that everything coming from a couple of my favorite restaurants disappeared. Big Truck Tacos wasn't one of those, but they were the place featured in the article. What is this all about? Like I said, I don't "do" Facebook a lot, but I'm curious.

Roger S
03-26-2014, 06:59 AM
I read it and was aware of it. I tend to get about a 33% view of my regular status updates but that also varies depending on how I update.

If I share an update from another page those tend to hardly be seen at all. Sharing photos the number goes down as well. There is an option to boost posts by paying to do so but as I'm a hobbyist and not making any money at what I do. I have not tried using that option to see how well it works.

On the plus side I've noticed on the occasion that someone shares one of my updates to their timeline that my views can really go viral to people that are not followers of my page.

RadicalModerate
03-26-2014, 09:27 AM
Thanks for the info.
It didn't really clarify the "Huh? Say Wha'?" on my part, re: The Facebook Network Article in The Newspaper" thing.
But thanks, anyways . . . =)

So . . . Is the deal, like, if an Official Business (e.g. a fine restaurant, e.g.g. Big Truck Tacos) wants to let folks out there that know that it is a fine restaurant (or whatever) they have to, like, pay extra money to Facebook to get their message across?

If that is the case, then I can imagine an alternative to Twitter or even Angry Birds . . .
Perhaps something along the lines of . . . "Happy Valet Passenger Pigeons Cooing"? =)

mkjeeves
03-27-2014, 08:29 AM