View Full Version : "Credit-push" inflation...? Ever studied?

SoonerDave
03-22-2014, 12:57 PM
I'm no economics expert, but I've always kinda held onto the theory that ever-expanding credit leads to a different kind of "inflation."

Pretend there's no credit around. Theoretical car sells for $10,000; with no credit, a cash-only sales is implied. Seller factors production cost, overhead, and profit to determine price.

Now, add the credit variable back in. Same car with credit persuades individuals to purchase by monthly payment rather than by sticker price. Seller can now increase that sales price and "amortize" the extra cost over the life of a loan, presumably at an interest rate that will outstrip the expected future value of that price.

We know the latter happens now - vendors push longer and longer-term financing, meaning the actual sales prices can be "devalued" or "watered down" - thus increased - because the delta is distributed over more payments - hence the presence of credit allows sellers to sell things (cars are just an easy example) at a higher price.

Same thing could arguably be demonstrated to exist in education market - wide availability of student "loans" (and current staggering debt load to evidence it) seems to parallel the manifest increase in education costs over a similar period.

I just wonder if any actual economists have studied anything like this, and drawn any conclusions about whether its real, or just something I perceive? I think of it as a one-off of what is called "wage-push" inflation - if there's a large increase in discretionary income, prices for some goods go up merely to chase the additional available money.

Food for thought.

bradh
03-22-2014, 01:29 PM
On the surface it makes sense

stick47
03-22-2014, 04:10 PM