View Full Version : Lest We Forget...

Dennis Heaton
12-24-2013, 10:16 PM
Selective Service System: History and Records (http://www.sss.gov/lotter1.htm)

Merry Christmas to all those that survived and to the families of those that didn't...we will never forget!

Signed,

Dennis Heaton, USAF, Retired

ljbab728
12-24-2013, 10:21 PM
I don't think there is any danger of forgetting. Current and past military members get much more recognition from the public now than they have in many years.

gjl
12-24-2013, 11:01 PM
I remember it well. I was a student at OSU, classified 1H student exempt and after my lottery drawing I was reclassified 1A. It was a bit of a confusing time because Nixon had already ended the draft but you still had to register with the Selective Service and they had the lottery drawings going on. And I have much gratitude for all that serve or have served.

What I find sad is on a day to day basis, you'd never know this country is currently at war and has been in Afghanistan since 2001. There was some awareness of war when we were in Iraq, but we have young men and women losing life and limb every day in Afghanistan and for the general US population, it has no effect on them. God bless our troops and I wish we would just bring them home..

ljbab728
12-24-2013, 11:24 PM
What I find sad is on a day to day basis, you'd never know this country is currently at war and has been in Afghanistan since 2001. There was some awareness of war when we were in Iraq, but we have young men and women losing life and limb every day in Afghanistan and for the general US population, it has no effect on them. God bless our troops and I wish we would just bring them home..

I don't find that to be true at all. It is very much in the American conscience and most are very well aware of what happens.

Have you been in an airport recently when American's in uniform just walk off a plane? They are very much in everyone's thoughts.

gjl
12-25-2013, 09:18 AM