View Full Version : IT professionals, where do you work?

raneman
07-19-2005, 12:48 PM
My name is John and I am a computer/network tech for the Metropolitan Library System, the IT offices are located at the Ronald J Norick Downtown Library. Another user on this board, Hipsterdoofus is my coworker.

pdjr
08-02-2005, 02:33 PM
Thanks to VPN, I do most of my work out of my house. Only on installs or bad programs that require a person there to reboot do I leave the cave.

MadMonk
08-03-2005, 02:17 PM
Thanks to VPN, I do most of my work out of my house. Only on installs or bad programs that require a person there to reboot do I leave the cave.
So, do you work for a company, own your own biz or do you consult/contract? Not many companies I've had experience with let you work from home for the majority of the time.

pdjr
08-03-2005, 05:00 PM
I have a small business, and I work for another company from home (based in OKC) for the benefits. I'm keeping my plate full after jumping off the corporate gravy train a few years ago to spend more time away from airports.

hipsterdoofus
08-04-2005, 11:21 AM
Nice, pdjr, how can I get in on that gig? :-)

pdjr
08-04-2005, 08:16 PM
Work hard, create email/voice relationships with the names on all of those business cards in your pocket, take risks, save whatever you can and apply my formula for the perfect small business:

1) Identify a market/service/product that you live and breathe and know back to front.

2) Study that market/sevice/product for unmet needs or missing links.

3) Wham! That's the perfect small business for you. There are specific tax advantages for running a small business in addition to or in lieu of a full-time gig.

Taking the leap of faith and giving six months notice paid off for me financially (not at first though), emotionally and physically (no more Botox injections in my armpits for sweating problems, it was just stress after all that money, ugh).