View Full Version : Anyone know anything about school transfers?

Zuplar
09-25-2013, 02:31 PM
I was curious if anyone knew anything or had any experience with transferring kids to another school district? My house sits on the Mustang/Moore district line but is technically assigned to Moore. Personally this doesn't make sense as the closest Moore school is over twice the distance house than Mustangs schools. My wife and I were kind of mislead when we bought the house as to thinking it's in Mustang's district as I stated before because of how close it was to Mustang schools, and even a mile and a half from Mustang city limits. Since both my wife and I graduated from Mustang we'd rather our future kids go to this school. At the same time we don't want to have to deal with hassles every year to get it done. I've done some reading and it sounds like if the school accepts your transfer app then you should be good to go. It also mentions offering bus service, which isn't a stretch IMO as the Mustang bus literally goes in the neighborhood next to mine. Even if my kid had to walk to where the bus goes now it would be a few hundred feet.

I've also read that you can dispute assigned attendance school. Not sure what exactly this means, but I was wondering if I could actually get my house changed to the other district due to its' location. It's not like I'm way out, I'm literally on the line. If this could be done, it would probably make things in the long run.

So if anyone has any insight I would be interested. Thanks.

Pete
09-25-2013, 02:43 PM
I'm not sure how this works but I do know that your property taxes go to the school district where your house is officially located.

So, I could see where Mustang would not be excited about providing education to a housing tract that sends all of it's tax dollars to Moore.