View Full Version : What was your first job?

Keith
06-21-2005, 06:58 PM
I thought it would be very interesting to find out from everyone, what their first job was.

When I turned 16 years old, and was able to get a job, I went to work for Griders Discount Foods, at SW.29 & May. I started out working in the summer, and worked as many hours as they would allow me to work. When school started back, I continued working at Griders.

I started out as a car loader, then a sacker, and worked my way up to a cashier. After being a cashier for several months, I was assigned to work in the frozen food section as a part time stocker. After I graduated from high school, I started working full time as a ff stocker.

After about 6 months of being a stocker, I was chosen to work in the front office, cashing checks, counting money, answering phones, making bank deposits, etc... I was really honored to be in that position, because Maxine Grider was real picky as to who handled her money. At age 19, I was promoted to assistant manager over the front end. I was in charge of all of the cashiers, sackers, car loaders, etc......I was able to get some excellent experience in mgmt, as well as in handling money.

To this day, I have great memories of working at Griders. Some of my best memories were all of the girls I dated that worked at the store:irule: .

Curt
06-21-2005, 08:27 PM
My first job was working for a shop that built racing engines, I was just a general laborer but liked it. If there are any old time drag racing fans on the board the shop was owned by Wayne Gapp, of the once famous Gapp and Roush team from the mid '70's, Gapp had a falling out with Roush and they split, ironically now 20 years later I work for Roush as an automotive prototype tech.

mranderson
06-21-2005, 09:03 PM
As a kid, I hung out at the TG&Y at 240 and Pennsylvania. Even being there as their first customer and watching a fledgeling named Buck Owens perform the grand opening.