View Full Version : Story on Dennis Swanberg

Patrick
08-25-2004, 04:17 PM
Well, I know Keith posted about the Dennis Swanberg concert at his church this past weekend. I saw this article on Dennis Swanberg in this past week's Pentecostal Evangel, a publication of the Assembly of God Church. I thought it was interesting. You might take look Keith.

"ADHD requires multifaceted treatment approach
By Ashli O’Connell (8/22/04)

As a child Dennis Swanberg was the life of the party, but he couldn’t hold his own in the classroom. “I read too fast and didn’t understand what I had read by the time I was done,” he says. “I couldn’t concentrate long enough to comprehend anything. Everybody just thought I was a goof-off. But I studied harder than any of my friends, and I was not making it.”

The worst point came when his third-grade teacher announced to the class that he had done poorly on a state achievement test. “By third grade, kids are starting to label each other as smart or dumb,” he says. “I found my self-image beginning to crumble.”

Not knowing where to turn for help, Swanberg began to compensate with his greatest strengths: humor and sports. He went to college on a football scholarship. Today Swanberg is an ordained Southern Baptist minister, Christian comedian, television host and author. Not until his own son began struggling with similar problems did Swanberg learn he has Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).

Swanberg chronicles his family’s experience in a 2003 book, Why ADHD Doesn’t Mean Disaster. “Sometimes I wonder what would have become of me if I had been uncoordinated or never set foot on an athletic field,” he says.

ADHD is a neurobiological abnormality affecting around 4 percent of school-age children. The condition manifests itself through three behavioral symptoms: inattention, hyperactivity and impulsivity. There are two primary types — one with hyperactivity and one without, formerly known as ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder).