View Full Version : boom and bust

NewPlains
04-19-2005, 06:24 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the site, but not to OKC. I'm a college student at UCO and I love OKC without reservation.

I'm incredibly impressed by all of the great things we've accomplished as a city, and I'm also incredibly impressed by the civic spirit here (which was almost absent just 15 years ago). Anyway, having said that, I wanted to bring up something that some of us would probably rather not think about, which is the boom and bust cycles that have defined our history as a city. As much as we and our leaders have done to make this a better place over the past decade, I think that some of our current success may be due to situations outside our control; oil prices are up, the weak dollar has been good for industry and agriculture, and OKC and Oklahoma in general didn't experience the incredible growth and incredible decline of the tech boom in the same catostrophic way that some cities did. Simply put, how much can we take credit for, and how much is luck?

I don't think that we're looking at a bust anytime soon, and I think we've done a good job of capitalizing on our success, but it's still something to think about.

Colin

Nuclear_2525
04-19-2005, 09:52 PM
I still don't think OK , OKC or Tulsa has seen the "boom" yet. So if the boom is supposed to come before the bust, then we have a while before OK busts again.

mranderson
04-20-2005, 08:10 AM
I still don't think OK , OKC or Tulsa has seen the "boom" yet. So if the boom is supposed to come before the bust, then we have a while before OK busts again.

Oklahoma CIty will not see a "boom" until city leaders start seeking companies that offer realistic salaries and not slave labor wages. Most people want to feed their families and buy a nice home. Most of the jobs that have entered the market do not have those salaries.

JOHNINSOKC
04-20-2005, 08:13 AM