View Full Version : Medieval Fair 2011

Uncle Slayton
04-03-2011, 09:05 AM
I've been attending the Medieval Fair in Norman since around 1986 when I first moved here and still enjoy it, although I preferred the duck pond location much more than where they've moved it.

Yesterday specifically got me wondering if the event has gotten bigger than Norman's ability to handle it? It took me 50 minutes to get from roughly Lindsey and McGee to Jenkins and Constitution. It's never been remotely that awful on game days.

Seems as if there was no traffic management or even an attempt at it on any street south of Boyd. Lindsey, Berry, Chautauqua, Imhoff, Jenkins...all were gridlocked.

To further increase the chaos, if you happened to drive in on the south side of LNC and try to park, you were informed that some other event was going on there (pink ticket) and if you wanted to attend the Medieval Fair, you had to go on to Jenkins and turn north to get in the east lots of LNC. One might think that such a stipulation would warrant a large sign out front or well in advance of the entrance so you could readjust your approach to the park.

The parking south of the venue is a fiasco @ five dollars a pop every time you leave the lot, and none of the event staff or anyone else trying to manage pedestrian street crossings on Constitution between the parking lots and the venue...

It seems as if the city of Norman et al dropped the ball on managing the event this year. There wasn't a huge police presence that might have helped with traffic flow on some of the more clogged arteries, the parking lot attendants were running around like headless chickens because people weren't aware or ignored the barriers and drove over or through them. The ditches that border those lots were at least worth the $5 parking admission because suddenly people think that a Plymouth Neon has the ground clearance to cross those and get back on the streets.