View Full Version : Challenger Disaster

Thunder
01-28-2011, 05:50 AM
Today marks the 25th anniversary of the Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster. That was the one carried the 1st teacher toward space.

http://www.aolnews.com/2011/01/27/space-shuttle-challenger-disaster-25th-anniversary-where-were-y/

I was a baby.

What is your story?

HewenttoJared
01-28-2011, 06:12 AM
I remember someone being wrong and my parents being upset, but I was too young to really understand yet.

Bill Robertson
01-28-2011, 06:27 AM
That's one of those things that you remember exactly where you were and what you were doing. Assuming you are old enough. I was an electrician and was fininshing out a small gated community project on NW 63rd between May and Penn. We were running lighting in the landscaping.

Midtowner
01-28-2011, 06:34 AM
They wheeled media carts into our First Grade classroom.

We watched it. I believe, at that time, I was pretty obsessed with space exploration, so it hit me pretty hard.

BBatesokc
01-28-2011, 07:03 AM
I was in 'In School Restriction' at Putnam City Central Junior High - sitting in the ISR room doing some lesson, they had a TV on in there and I remember some teachers crying. They ended classes early that day. Then I remember the kids dealing with it over the next few days the only why many 8th graders can - they made and were telling really distasteful jokes.

venture
01-28-2011, 09:35 AM

We watched it. I believe, at that time, I was pretty obsessed with space exploration, so it hit me pretty hard.

Pretty much this exact same thing for me...just in second grade. It is weird how the old memory struggles to remember something from last week, but can remember that day pretty clearly.

Kerry
01-28-2011, 09:54 AM