View Full Version : What would you like to see taught in public schools?

ewoodard
01-11-2011, 01:56 PM
As a teacher, I would like to ask a fairly simple question of all on this board.

What would you like to see taught at all public schools in this state? I would like specifics on each subject if possible. You can access the current standards at www.sde.state.ok.us/Curriculum/PASS/default.html, this will give you a listing of each subject and the PASS skills for each.

Thank you for your input, and I am doing this for my own informantion only.

Easy180
01-11-2011, 02:17 PM
Personal finance courses every grade from 8-12

okclee
01-11-2011, 02:24 PM
Personal finance courses every grade from 8-12

You beat me to the subject;

I would start at an earlier grade, never to early to teach personal finance.

exvagabond
01-11-2011, 02:24 PM
I'd like to see a Religion class taught that covered the world's major religions. It wouldn't really be able to go in depth but maybe it would help foster more of a respect of those whose beliefs are different. Also I think a foreign language should be required for all four HS years. Don't know how realistic these are, but I don't see how they could hurt. Knowledge is power & I do think education is the core of our future & we ignore it at our own peril. BTW, thanks for doing a job that I'd love to do, but don't have the temperment for!

Thunder
01-11-2011, 03:29 PM
Also I think a foreign language should be required for all four HS years.

Not possible. Deaf students will not be able to successfully pass. They will literally fail. And, no, an interpreter will not be able to translate in this way. There are foreign sign languages, but deaf students should not be forced to take vocal foreign language classes.

stick47
01-11-2011, 04:52 PM
Dodgeball and shop class would be my picks.

kevinpate
01-11-2011, 04:53 PM