View Full Version : History of the Cock O' The Walk?

JohnDenver
11-23-2010, 07:46 AM
What is the history of this establishment?
Has it been around for as long as you can remember?
What else use to be in that building?

I am fairly new to the state and this location fascinates me. What commerce used to be on NW36th and Western?

papaOU
11-23-2010, 09:30 AM
What is the history of this establishment?
Has it been around for as long as you can remember?
What else use to be in that building?

I am fairly new to the state and this location fascinates me. What commerce used to be on NW36th and Western?

I am 55 and the place has been there ever since I can remember. My Dad said more than once that it was one of the few places OFF LIMITS to military personnel.

jmarkross
11-23-2010, 09:32 AM
I am 55 and the place has been there ever since I can remember. My Dad said more than once that it was one of the few places OFF LIMITS to military personnel.

Were they not connected with the Chicken In The Rough?

papaOU
11-23-2010, 09:35 AM
Not sure. Had the bird and bag painted on the outside of the bldg.

Martin
11-23-2010, 09:38 AM
noticed a few weeks ago that the sign was taken down... is it going to be restored/replaced or is it gone for good? -M

MustangGT
11-23-2010, 09:50 AM
I remember that as a watering hole when I was in college in the early 80's.

USG'60
11-23-2010, 11:09 AM
It has been there at LEAST 60 years that I know of.

jmarkross
11-23-2010, 11:12 AM
Not sure. Had the bird and bag painted on the outside of the bldg.

I believe that "Chicken in the Rough" was a licensed process...didn't Beverly's have that sign as well...KFC started as a licensed "process" as well...I remember being confused as a child, there was a "Chicken in the Rough" place on Main Street in old downtown Norman that was popular...and Beverly's had the same signs...

MustangGT
11-23-2010, 12:04 PM
Off Topi...History of Beverlys and Chicken in the Rough.

http://chickenintherough.com/History.html