View Full Version : Map of Potential Infill Sites in Central OKC

Pages : [1] 2

shane453
11-14-2010, 01:20 PM
I came across a thread at SkyscraperCity (http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=12557910) where one of the members had created images comparing some North American cities by taking a Google Earth shot from 9000 ft and filling in areas of surface parking lots to show how surface parking dominates business districts. This got me wondering how Oklahoma City's shot would look.

I knew that the core of our CBD has no surface parking lots, but beyond that there are a lot of them. As I started drawing them out, I noticed that raw land (where structures have probably been demolished in the past) is extremely plentiful in central OKC. So I have made maps showing most of the sites in central OKC where a developer could build WITHOUT TEARING DOWN A SINGLE BUILDING.

Here is the map with parking and greenfields shown:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v321/eyeblink/parkingandgreenfields.jpg

Parking only:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v321/eyeblink/parking.jpg

And greenfields only (SoSa, the area South of the Medical District (SoMed?), and the area between the Medical District and DT are amazing):

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v321/eyeblink/greenfields.jpg

And we thought the frontier days were over. We have work to do!

Kerry
11-14-2010, 07:44 PM
Shane453 - thank you for taking the time to do this.

circuitboard
11-14-2010, 09:25 PM
This is awesome! Thanks for the work on this!

Spartan
11-15-2010, 01:29 AM
Looks like a very Merry Christmas downtown.

Kerry
11-15-2010, 05:48 AM
@Shane453 - can you give the link to the skyscraper page again? The one above doesn't work.

jmarkross
11-15-2010, 05:51 AM
http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=690618&page=31

bombermwc
11-15-2010, 06:34 AM