View Full Version : OKC Nostalgic Tramway

Superhyper
07-18-2010, 11:38 AM
Just to clear it up right off the bat: this is a crackpot idea inspired by the heat. On that note, I'm currently studying for the summer in Istanbul, Turkey. Here they've recently rebuilt and renovated their old streetcar system (pictures below) in the tourist/shopping section of the city. The result has been spectacular, the streetcars are almost always full, and it really adds a sense of history. It occurred to me that it would be really neat if OKC could open up a small stretch and do something similar. Regrettably i'm sure it's impossible, but it would at least be nice!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/jeffinmoscow/2326653479/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/peacecorrespondent/2199361573/

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:T%C3%BCrkiye_%C4%B0stanbul_Nostalji_Tramvay.j pg

http://tr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dosya:T%C3%BCrkiye_%C4%B0stanbul_nostalji_iki_tram vay_kar%C5%9F%C4%B1la%C5%9Fmas%C4%B1.jpg
(Evidently the image embedder is broken, so I'm afraid I only have the links)

Larry OKC
07-18-2010, 09:32 PM
Isn't this what we intended on doing with the original MAPS, 16 years ago? Federal funding didn't come thru and we ended up with the retro rubber tired trolleys. Now w/MAPS 3 we are going to have streetcars again but they will be "modern" and ADA compliant etc.......

Rover
07-18-2010, 10:24 PM
Didn't Mr. Istook torpedo our light rail the first time?

Spartan
07-18-2010, 10:35 PM
Didn't Mr. Istook torpedo our light rail the first time?

I've heard streetcar and light rail interchangeably used to describe what Istook put the kibosh on, so you and Larry are probably both right as far as I'm concerned.

What's especially fascinating is if you examine Istook's role in Salt Lake obtaining funding for their LRT. He was the top advocate of that project in D.C.

Kerry
07-19-2010, 06:00 AM