View Full Version : If I'm from out of town, am I out of luck?

CO-To-OKC
07-10-2010, 10:07 AM
As I've posted before, I will be looking at moving to OKC once I graduate college next May. One issue that I hear a lot of people are having is that if they don't live within 200 miles of the city where they are applying for jobs, they are having a hard time landing interviews, and ultimately, landing jobs.

I live about 600 miles away from Oklahoma City, and moving there without having a job lined up won't be an option because of my financial situation. Any advice on how to land a job if you're from out of town?

dankrutka
07-10-2010, 11:14 AM
There are a lot of variables there. What type of job are you looking for?

CO-To-OKC
07-10-2010, 12:21 PM
My degree is in communications with a minor in business, but I've already given up on finding any type of media-related job anywhere. I'm wanting to get into marketing or web development, but right now, I'm just hoping to get a job that will pay me around $30K to start. I know that there are a lot of major energy corporations in OKC (Sandridge, Devon, Chesapeke), so I'm thinking about trying to do something there, too.

brianinok
07-10-2010, 01:35 PM
Well, make no mistake about it. Statistics show that most jobs are obtained through relationships. Do you know anyone who lives here?

As a side note, I know someone who has moved here recently because of the relatively good job market. They have no connections to this area and had just graduated from college. They found a job less than a month later.

Spartan
07-10-2010, 01:38 PM
Why don't you try working through your college to see if they have any contacts with OKC companies. Most colleges (I know OU/OSU/OCU do) have hire teams to line up jobs for their new graduates, because your problem is not unique. If your college doesn't have one of these, I don't know what to suggest to you either.

sroberts24
07-12-2010, 09:18 AM