View Full Version : Should I Move to OKC?

CO-To-OKC
06-09-2010, 01:47 PM
Hello all. I'm new to this forum, and considering a move to Oklahoma City in about a year (when I graduate college). Let me give some background about myself, and then I'll as a few questions.

I'm 23 years old, single, and about to start my last year of college. I'm majoring in communications and minoring in business. I live in Pueblo, Colorado, a blue-collar, old school town of about 100,000 people that doesn't offer many opportunities for college graduates. I wouldn't mind moving to the Denver area so that I can stay close to my family, but the cost of living up there is ridiculously high compared to other cities in the Midwest.

I'm interested in moving to Oklahoma City because of the low cost of living and the conservative mindset of the area. I also have a friend who attends OU, and she says that she won't move outside of the area unless she absolutely has to.

Now for some of my questions:

What is the job market in OKC like right now? What would be the best way for me to search for a job (my degree is very versatile)? Is the life for singles good down there? Where can I find an affordable apartment ($600 or less) in a good area of the city?

Any other info would be great to know.

Thanks

Spartan
06-09-2010, 02:09 PM
We have some very attractive women. What more do you need for good single life?

mmonroe
06-09-2010, 02:32 PM
LOL! There are plenty of job offerings for people with degrees but it is competitive.
Job Search:
Oklahoma Job and Career Center | JobsOK.com (http://newsok.com/marketplace/jobsok)
Oklahoma Jobs in Oklahoma Job Search. (http://oklahoma.jobs.com/)
Oklahoma Jobs - Jobs in Oklahoma - Oklahoma City Jobs (http://www.oklahomajobs.com/)

There are more places to have fun as a 21+ Single Guy than you can think of near the DT area.