View Full Version : Tom Ward

wsucougz
04-05-2010, 11:11 AM
Is he the kind of CEO that an investor should bet on? Companies with great leaders are usually good long-term bets and Sandridge shares are pretty beat down right now.

Winners tend to find ways to win - is Tom Ward one of those special talents and is SD a good long-term hold? I'm thinking about tucking some away.

Bigrayok
04-06-2010, 07:45 PM
He helped make Chesapeake successful as one of its founders and has developed Sandridge into a major player in the natural gas industry in a short time. I would bet on his company for a long term investment, especially since it focuses on natural gas. I am no investment expert though.

Bigray in Ok

mugofbeer
04-06-2010, 08:31 PM
Sandridge was primarily as a gas company. They have operated on a significant amount of debt and have designs on being a larger company. Their goal with the purchase this week of Arena was to enlarge their oil production presence because natural gas isn't expected to increase much in price anytime soon and oil is. The acreage that Arena owns is chiefly in areas where oil has been pumped for 75 years. New technologies are making it financially feasible to pump oil out of some areas that were once thought essentially dry. With the purchase, the risk is far less than looking for natural gas in unproven fields because it is known there is oil in the Permian Basin property. It looks to me like Sandridge actually stabilized their revenue stream and diversified their product mix with this purchase. Most analysts think it was an excellent move. The only one I saw that wasn't happy was a lawyer in CA who probably has no vested interest but is saying what he said in case some Arena shareholder(s) wants to file suit against the proposed merger, then they might come calling to him to represent.