View Full Version : Wal-Mart Worker Fired Over Medical Marijauna

Bunty
03-18-2010, 02:09 PM
This is, no doubt, terrifically wrong and unjust. An outstanding young man already trying to live with an inoperable brain tumor is willing to go to work, but Wal-Mart won't let him:

Wal-Mart worker fired over medical marijuana - Careers- msnbc.com (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/35913492/ns/business-careers)

smooth
03-18-2010, 02:27 PM
If possession of Marijuana, even for medical use, is illegal, then Wal-Mart is just in their actions... Regardless of the person's condition. If, however, it is NOT illegal for medical use, then, I am on the fence. He could have used it at home only.

Midtowner
03-18-2010, 03:32 PM
Wal-Mart's internal policies are enforceable to the extent that they comply with federal and state law. I'm no expert on Michigan law, but the way the article reads, Wal-Mart is prohibited for discriminating against an employee because they have the card allowing them to purchase marijuana. It seems to stand to reason that this law would also contemplate protecting the employee for actually using said card to purchase marijuana and use it, but the article is silent on what I think is a crucial question.

And then there's another interesting issue -- since marijuana possession and use is prohibited by federal law, does that federal law supersede Michigan law when it comes to workplace discrimination? Solving that question will require lots of trees and ink and billable hours.

I suspect Wal-Mart's motives here are more to save itself from the exorbitant cost of treating this employee's illness. Their H.R. was more than likely looking for any out they could find and this is one of those things.

Now this guy's only choice is to take it in the shorts, shut up and die, or find a lawyer who'll represent him.

mugofbeer
03-18-2010, 05:02 PM