View Full Version : Zoloft cause murder?

Patrick
02-15-2005, 11:08 AM
This was an interesting case that just got completed in court. A child murdered his grandparents and claimed Zoloft made him do it. In a sense, this is a tough case to decide. SSRI antidepressants have been notorious for causing irritability and akathisia in children, sometimes so severe, it can drive them to commit suicide or acts like this one. I've been on Zoloft in the past as a prevntative med for chronic migraine headaches, and I can testify to the fact that it made me extremely irritable. I had to get off of the stuff.

But, you can also look at this from another perspective. Was the child simply using Zoloft as an excuse for his actions.

I think both sides could be argued. I wonder how many in the jury had actually taken an SSRI and experienced these side effects. Probably none of them.

As a doctor, I'll be very cautious in prescribing these drugs to anyone.

-------------
"Boy, 15, guilty of murder in Zoloft case

By BRUCE SMITH

CHARLESTON, S.C. (AP) -- A 15-year-old boy who claimed the antidepressant Zoloft drove him to kill his grandparents was found guilty Tuesday of murder.

Christopher Pittman hung his head as the verdict was read after about six hours of deliberations. He faces 30 years to life in prison at sentencing Tuesday afternoon.

The trial was the first case involving a youngster who says an antidepressant caused him to kill, Pittman's lawyer said. It came at a time of heightened scrutiny over the use of antidepressants among children.

Defense attorneys had urged the jury to send a message to the nation by blaming Zoloft for the killings. They said the negative effects of Zoloft are more pronounced in youngsters, and the drug affected Pittman so he did not know right from wrong.

"We do not convict children for murder when they have been ambushed by chemicals that destroy their ability to reason," attorney Paul Waldner said.