View Full Version : What does OKC need to attract and retain 20-35 year olds

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

dcsooner
01-04-2010, 06:43 PM
Just returned from a visit to family in Oklahoma and when I recounted the classmates I graduated with many years ago, very few still lived in my hometown or even in the State. that made me wonder what are the top reasons that our young adults leave the State and what can or should our two major cities do to stem the tide?

Spartan
01-04-2010, 06:51 PM
Jobs.

Tough to get a "good job" with "opportunities for advancement" and "decent starting pay" and the whole shabang when you're right out of college in OKC.

You're better off in Dallas, Houston, Chicago, or even Omaha.

easternobserver
01-04-2010, 06:59 PM
these are the typical arguments -- however -- they are easily countered by low cost of living, better chance for home ownership, better place to settle down. maybe not as appealing to the 20 year olds, but sure is to the 30 year olds.

PennyQuilts
01-04-2010, 07:02 PM
Oklahoma had traditionally had an inferiority complex. Kids can't wait to leave town to prove they are more sophisticated than their roots would suggest. Many of them are anti religion and hold an anti conservative viewpoint. Sometimes it passes, sometimes not.

G.Walker
01-04-2010, 07:09 PM
High-End Jobs, focusing in medical fields, and the alternative energy industry.

Spartan
01-04-2010, 07:18 PM
Oklahoma had traditionally had an inferiority complex. Kids can't wait to leave town to prove they are more sophisticated than their roots would suggest. Many of them are anti religion and hold an anti conservative viewpoint. Sometimes it passes, sometimes not.

I'm not anti religion or anti conservative, but could you blame someone after growing up in the Land of Sally Kern? Honestly..

oknacreous
01-04-2010, 07:21 PM