View Full Version : City Manager didn't know there was a problem?

Pages : [1] 2

OKCGUY3
12-05-2009, 05:32 PM
Did anyone see the Channel 9 story about Fire station #7 being closed for the last year and a half? The City Manager actualy said that he didn't know there was a problem with station #7. I think that is horrible not to know that a fire station has been shut down for over a year in a city that you are responsible for. I wonder if he knows about the other fire station #6 that has been closed down for 6 months as well. I am not good with links but I am sure someone can post the story on here. And why is the City manager waiting until next week to decide on his plan to lay off 40 firefighters?

flintysooner
12-05-2009, 05:39 PM
I saw it and paid attention because I like to eat lunch often at Grill on the Hill.

I understand Couch to mean that he found it surprising that the issue of the station was raised at this particular time (just before the MAPS 3 vote). There were structural problems with the station.

Of course I suppose closing it for structural reasons is better than letting the firemen burn it down as in another recently publicized incident at another station. (Just kidding folks)

kevinpate
12-05-2009, 05:44 PM
I saw the story, but did not come away from that broadcast with the interpretation you did. Not even close.

OKCGUY3
12-05-2009, 05:51 PM
It is my understeanding after re-watching the video, that plans have been approved to fix station #7. That is great. But it also said that the bid process was 90% complete? Does it really take a year and a half to get bids to fix a city building? What takes that long, beurocracy? ( I am sure I spelled that wrong )

soonerguru
12-05-2009, 05:55 PM
Last second smear campaign?

FAIL

NTM is LOSING, and they are now going full-on with the smears.

OKCGUY3
12-05-2009, 06:34 PM