View Full Version : OU- Parking and Parking Tickets?

will77
12-04-2009, 12:11 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a legal/what would you do question for you. I'm an OU student, who has never had a parking permit, so my license plate is not in the OU system. I've gotten 2 parking tickets in the past month at the Goddard health center (while I was there for a doctor's appointment) for parking at an expired meter, and one a few days ago by kauffman when I was going to get change to put in the parking meter!

I'm contemplating simply not paying the tickets. Would OU ever go to the trouble of tracing back those fines to me? I know some universities sometimes call the DMV and put a hold on your registration because of that, but I've never heard of anyone here getting caught for that. Has anyone else had any experience with the parking nazi's at OU?

istilldon'tgetit
12-04-2009, 01:16 AM
i can say from experience, that OU will get their money one way or another.
If the car is registered in the state of Oklahoma in your name, and you are enrolled at OU, they know it and can withhold grades, registration, transcripts and, yes, even graduation if they are not paid. that being said, they'll most likely just add it to your Bursars bill in January, anyway.

Boomer.

okyeah
12-04-2009, 02:31 AM
Hi everyone,

I have a legal/what would you do question for you. I'm an OU student, who has never had a parking permit, so my license plate is not in the OU system. I've gotten 2 parking tickets in the past month at the Goddard health center (while I was there for a doctor's appointment) for parking at an expired meter, and one a few days ago by kauffman when I was going to get change to put in the parking meter!