View Full Version : Digital?



Pages : 1 [2]

windowphobe
11-05-2009, 08:57 PM
But they're showing 170 Mhz on my receiver, which translates to VHF channel 7.

Yeah, but KSWO, the Lawton station they were trying to protect, is on channel 11 now.

Luke
11-06-2009, 07:57 AM
I still haven't been able to get KOCO with my rabbit ears in Del City. I can get all the other locals with great signal strength, but KOCO refuses to come in.

Charlie40
11-06-2009, 10:04 AM
But they're showing 170 Mhz on my receiver, which translates to VHF channel 7.

Correct they broadcast in VHF on RF channel 7. They have upped the power on Channel 5 in okc since the analog cutoff has passed since the digital signal doesnt travel as far as the analog one did they are no longer encroaching on the Lawton station to the SW.

Charlie40
11-06-2009, 10:07 AM
I still haven't been able to get KOCO with my rabbit ears in Del City. I can get all the other locals with great signal strength, but KOCO refuses to come in.

An outdoor VHF/UHF antenna mounted on a tall mast will give you the best reception of KOCO and all OKC stations. that is what I have and I live in Moore and have no trouble receiving any of the stations no digital drop outs or anything, i get a quality signal of 85-90 form Channel 5 which is the weakest for me, all others come in around 95-99 quality.

drumsncode
11-06-2009, 11:11 AM
An outdoor VHF/UHF antenna mounted on a tall mast will give you the best reception of KOCO and all OKC stations. that is what I have and I live in Moore and have no trouble receiving any of the stations no digital drop outs or anything, i get a quality signal of 85-90 form Channel 5 which is the weakest for me, all others come in around 95-99 quality.

That's impressive signal strength! I get about 50-60 with rabbit ears out in N.W. Edmond.

My mother lives right near Taft stadium and she gets about 60.

Thank goodness it's digital, so once it passes the threshold of "good enough", the picture is perfect.

Thunder
11-06-2009, 01:03 PM
I still haven't been able to get KOCO with my rabbit ears in Del City. I can get all the other locals with great signal strength, but KOCO refuses to come in.

A dude like you should not be on rabbit ears.

Bunty
11-06-2009, 03:30 PM
I still haven't been able to get KOCO with my rabbit ears in Del City. I can get all the other locals with great signal strength, but KOCO refuses to come in.

That's the way it is in Stillwater. KOCO is the worse. It comes in but doesn't always stay in. Maybe you need to adjust your rabbit years to the correct length. For KOCO it would be 28 in. source: TV Rabbit Ear (http://www.kyes.com/antenna/rabbitear.html). I need to try that trick myself.

If not already, it would probably be a good idea to set the rabbit years as close to the ceiling as possible, though it may be viewed as an eye sore. That way it may bring in signals stronger and with the station less likely to drop out when someone walks close to the antenna.

Bunty
11-06-2009, 03:31 PM
A dude like you should not be on rabbit ears.

I'm not on rabbit ears because I don't want a dang eyesore mounted on my house.

Bunty
11-06-2009, 03:37 PM
Could I interest you in a $200 HDMI cable by Monster Labs then?

No, it's bad enough how Wal-mart still see fit to sell HDMI cable for around $30.

Bunty
11-07-2009, 06:54 PM
An outdoor VHF/UHF antenna mounted on a tall mast will give you the best reception of KOCO and all OKC stations. that is what I have and I live in Moore and have no trouble receiving any of the stations no digital drop outs or anything, i get a quality signal of 85-90 form Channel 5 which is the weakest for me, all others come in around 95-99 quality.

Do you sometimes get the Tulsa digital TV stations, though from you being in Moore, I would imagine your antenna isn't pointed toward Tulsa?

Luke
11-08-2009, 01:19 PM
A dude like you should not be on rabbit ears.

I have Dish network so I get a bunch of channels including locals. However, in the off chance the Dish goes out, I like having backup.

bluedogok
11-08-2009, 01:33 PM
Like Luke, I have Directv and an antenna. Since most of the sat/cable companies don't carry the sub-channels the antenna gives me access to them. One of my HD-DVR's will record either sat or OTA broadcasts, the other will with an add-in tuner.

hipsterdoofus
11-09-2009, 08:29 AM
Just build one of these, stick it in your attic and call it good - I get strength in the 90's on everything.

Make: Online : Maker Workshop - DTV Antenna & Steadycam on MAKE: television (http://blog.makezine.com/archive/2009/01/maker_workshop_dtv_antenna_steadyca.html)