View Full Version : refinancing my home question

Jesseda
05-15-2009, 10:35 AM
I am in the middle of refinacing my home, i am new to all of this, so the people i am going through seems to be giving me the run around, Last week they told me my house was appraised and is good to go, we gave them all the paper work that they needed, well monday we called and they said we might close on may 21st, well i called yesturday and asked if it was for sure so i can give my work some notice that i might need a couple hours or so off. I was told that it is in the underwritting area and it usually takes about 7 business days, so i asked are we still planning on a may 21 closing? they said it looks like it, but they didnt give me a time or a for sure thing on the date. what to do? does it really take 7 business days for underwritting, i asked if everything looks all right and the mortgage person told me yes.

PennyQuilts
05-15-2009, 11:43 AM
With so many people refinancing, it might take longer than it used to. Chances are, you are good to go but you never know - someone might forget to do something or other. Those sorts of things are nerve wracking, aren't they?

Karried
05-15-2009, 11:43 AM
Once it's in underwriting, it is sort of out of the broker's hands. He has to wait on their time frame while they examine docs and do all the title work. Since you're refinancing, a day or two difference shouldn't be too bad. We've had situations where we were buying a house and selling a house and the closing Had to be on a certain day. Stressful.

We are refinancing too... just finished signing all the paperwork this morning... fun, fun.

DaveSkater
05-15-2009, 11:52 AM
Good that you're doing it right now. Interest rates are on their way up. Skyrocketing, I believe is how I heard it put.

GWB
05-15-2009, 01:29 PM