View Full Version : any ubuntu users here?

Duckslammer
05-09-2009, 02:32 AM
Hi, I'm just getting started with ubuntu and wondering how many other ubuntu users are here. I'm no stranger to unix/linux, just to this distro.

dd

bretthexum
05-10-2009, 09:31 PM
Played with it a little bit. Trying to get my linux skills up to speed...

luke911
05-29-2009, 11:02 AM
I use it on a few servers, my laptop and my htpc.

fuzzytoad
05-29-2009, 11:11 AM
i use it on almost everything but my gaming pc and my fileserver

Jethrol
07-19-2009, 10:28 AM
I've got a removable WD USB HD that has Ubuntu installed on it and I run it off my laptop. Lots of people told me to just dual boot but that takes more HD space on my LT and introduces other possibilities like a HD failure taking down both OSs.

This way, I have both isolated yet I can still swap files between the two and not lose any functionality. I will admit, it's a bit slower because of the USB speed limits but it's a great solution for my needs. I love having both OSs at my disposal.

Funny thing is, I've just picked up a new MacBook pro and I don't even like logging into my windows machine now. :)

silvergrove
07-20-2009, 12:17 PM
It is a good OS for browsing the internet and basic word processing (from what I've been using so far)

oulefty
07-22-2009, 11:31 AM
I run Ubuntu 9.04 from the Installation CD. Use GIMP to enter text on pictures mat. Only thing stopping me from using the OS full time is my other software which only runs on MS Windows.

Jethrol
02-09-2010, 10:00 PM
I've been thinking about using Ubuntu to set up a HUGE server. I would like it to be a file, print, email, backup storage server as wells as a media server (storing and streaming all my music and movies) and to top it all off, I'd like it to be my DVR.

Anyone ever use Ubuntu for this? What was your experience? Do you know of any guides and/or books for doing this? How easy would it be for an average to above average Ubuntu user?

muzique808