View Full Version : So who wants to share some history on Spartan Drive In?

Steve
04-25-2009, 09:11 PM
Looking to get the southside represented on Welcome to OKCHistory.com (http://www.okchistory.com) and I need your help! Got a photo of it now - it's a used car lot.

grantgeneral78
04-26-2009, 01:14 PM
where in the world was the spartan theatre?

Steve
04-26-2009, 01:51 PM
Not a theater, it was like a Coits or Sonic. It was on Shields Boulevard.

papaOU
04-26-2009, 03:01 PM

When did you graduate?

jellen
04-26-2009, 04:08 PM

Actually it was just an old time drive in restaurant. There were a few booths inside. You couldn't drive around it, so if you wanted to "drag" Spartans you would drive past it and turn around at the north side of SE Highschool, close to the cafeteria and drive by it again or pull in. It had the limpest, greasiest french fries but we thought they were great drenched in ketchup.

Steve
04-26-2009, 05:16 PM
PapaOU, I graduated in 1985 from a small north church school. I operate a website, Welcome to OKCHistory.com (http://www.okchistory.com), and as some here can verify, I'm trying to get more balance on the site. Jellen, you're providing me just the sort of details I need. Can anyone tell me who operated it, and how long it was open.

papaOU
04-26-2009, 08:03 PM
PapaOU, I graduated in 1985 from a small north church school. I operate a website, Welcome to OKCHistory.com (http://www.okchistory.com), and as some here can verify, I'm trying to get more balance on the site. Jellen, you're providing me just the sort of details I need. Can anyone tell me who operated it, and how long it was open.

o.k. I know who you are. Or at least the name and website. I graduated in 1973 but have no memories of the "Drive-in". Never got on Shields except to go to Elm wood.

bowtieguy
04-26-2009, 08:10 PM