View Full Version : Help - Bank of America raising interest rate!

Jon27
04-06-2009, 06:13 PM
Does anyone have any advice for me on how to remedy this issue?

I have a Bank of America Mastercard. We use it for everyday purchases. We carry a low balance on it. I've had the card for over 3 years. The interest rate has been fixed at 7.9%. Today I received a letter in the mail. Starting in May, the interest rate will switch to variable with a 4% margin over the prime rate they choose. The rate will be 13.65% as of now. I've never been late on this card, or anything else on my credit report. The only out of the ordinary activity I have is our recent mortgage refinance. It seems like Bank of America is just raising the rate. I can opt out, and pay off the balance at the 7.9%, and then close the account. I really don't want to shop for a new credit card.

What I'm looking for is this. If I call in to Bank of America to protest this to try to keep my rate fixed a 7.9%, what is the best thing to say? Would filing any complaints such as the BBB do any good?

Karried
04-06-2009, 06:58 PM
Say exactly what you just said...

"We use it for everyday purchases. We carry a low balance on it. I've had the card for over 3 years. The interest rate has been fixed at 7.9%.

" I would like to keep my business with your company, can you honor and extend these same terms? "

"If not, I'll pay it off and get another card. "

But, realistically, if you carry a low balance on it, you should just pay it off. Why tack on nearly 8% to everything you buy?

I wouldn't close the account, just pay it off and don't use it. Shopping for a new card takes about a nano second.

Compare here:

Credit Cards - Compare Credit Card Offers at CreditCards.com (http://www.creditcards.com/)

Karried
04-06-2009, 07:03 PM