View Full Version : Mid-Town Residences

Boston Guy
02-11-2009, 07:19 PM
I'm new to OKCTalk and to OKC, having just moved from New England. I have read with interest the recent history of the Mid-Town Renaissance and am surprised no one has yet stepped forward on a condo project like the Osler/Heritage. What's the hangup? Ther are a numbe of projects in Bricktown/Deep Deuce, but they all seem overpriced for the market. The Osler seems like a great project and to me a better location. Can it be done for less $/SF than some of the other projects like The Hill, or will Mid-Town support $260/SF?

Steve
02-11-2009, 08:29 PM
Patience and welcome Boston Guy. The economy has complicated the Osler a bit, but it's still being tinkered with.

onthestrip
02-11-2009, 09:33 PM
I agree with him though. How hasnt some other new construction happened already? Is there no other small apartment building or condo complex being talked about? A building with 6-12 condos would even do. It doesnt have to be something giant like the Osler. Im surprised no one has done something already.

Steve
02-11-2009, 10:43 PM
I don't want to sound condescending here, so please forgive me for my bluntness: unless you've approached a bank in the past six months for financing for any spec housing, especially in an embryonic downtown market, you simply don't understand what it's like to get any project started right now.

I've talked to several developers and it's very ugly out there despite ongoing success with existing projects.

mcgrawsdad
02-11-2009, 10:59 PM
Steve is absolutely correct...it is nearly impossible to get a new project financed right now. In fact, in a great number of deals, credit lines that were previously extended have been cut or frozen.

soonerguru
02-12-2009, 12:01 AM
Steve is dead on.

blangtang
02-12-2009, 01:20 AM
steve, please write an article on financing. I would like to know if any local lenders are still giving credit. or arent.