View Full Version : Old fashioned soda fountain

Superhyper
01-31-2009, 11:50 AM
I know this question is waaaay out of left field, but does anyone here know if there are any old fashioned soda fountains in the OKC area? I'm a transplant in the area and have been craving the kind of old school cream sodas and egg cream floats I used to get at the soda fountain/pharmacy when I was kid. I doubt there's much chance of any surviving these days, but I thought it'd at least ask for nostalgia's sake!

PLANSIT
01-31-2009, 01:28 PM
I'm no expert, but this may be close. It's in Midtown.

Welcome to The Grateful Bean Cafe! (http://www.gratefulbean.com/)

Dan
01-31-2009, 01:28 PM
The Grateful Bean, in midtown, is your best bet. The food isn't that great (buffalo burgers are ok, but that's about as good as it gets). But they are the real deal when it comes to egg creams, malts, brown cows, whatever old-school stuff you want.

progressiveboy
01-31-2009, 03:45 PM
You might try Nichols Hills Drug. There is a sit down soda fountain in there where they make Malts and Shakes and flavored soda in addition to sandwiches and burgers. It has been a while since I have been there since I no longer reside in OKC but I assume it is till open.

Joe Kimball
01-31-2009, 03:56 PM
There's one in VZDs, but since it's currently being used as a bar, this may or may not help.

wsucougz
01-31-2009, 04:44 PM
I'm guessing pops probably has all of this. It's in Arcadia and well worth the trip:

POPS: Home (http://pops66.com/)

mecarr
01-31-2009, 05:05 PM
Grateful Bean is the best.

metro
01-31-2009, 05:53 PM
As others have said Grateful Bean by FAR is your best bet. The building is about 100 years old and one of two nonprofit restaurants in Oklahoma and only a handful in the nation. Tons of nostalgia and the egg cream floats are awesome. As others stated, the food is so-so, go for the sodas/ice cream. There is a thread in the food court section of this website with reviews.

Superhyper
01-31-2009, 06:27 PM