View Full Version : Prince Heupel

jstanthrnme
12-04-2008, 11:12 PM
Is he next in line for the throne?

With the rate of departure of OU's assistants, and based on the time I think Bob Stoops will be at OU, I think the chances are high, that Josh Heupel is next up as the head coach.
He's got a career in Norman no matter what, but based on his pedigree, his performance as a player, and his ability as a coach, I think he will be the successor to Stoops.

I wonder though, as great as his potential is, could he be the equivalent of Garry Gibbs to Barry Switzer?

I don't think that will be the case at all. Perhaps he is the equivalent of Bob Stoops to Steve Spurrier?

I can see that...but that'd mean that he would have to leave Norman..

Any thoughts on his future?

okyeah
12-05-2008, 02:03 PM
I don't think Stoops is leaving OU. Heupel will prob go elsewhere

metro
12-05-2008, 02:11 PM
Yeah, I think it'd be a long time before Heupel got a head coach position at OU.

SouthsideSooner
12-05-2008, 02:50 PM
Don't get ahead of yourself. Offensive Coordinator would be the next step for him.....Head Coach would be further down the road.

I have little doubt that Josh will be a great O.C., as well as H.C. some day.

jstanthrnme
12-05-2008, 05:01 PM
I understand that offensive coordinator is his next promotion. With the way things are looking, Kevin Wilson might be on the list of some of these AD's who are searching for a head coach. Wether that happens this year, or next, we can all agree that Heupel will be promoted.

I couldn't imagine Stoops would put another ten years into his career at OU. I have the feeling that after another 2 natn'l championships, he'll go out on top, and leave to coach high school basketball like he says he wants to do. Assuming Heupel is still around, right now, it seems to me he's the most likely candidate to follow Bob Stoops.

jbrown84
12-05-2008, 06:10 PM