View Full Version : How many of you own your own business?

mmonroe
06-11-2008, 04:14 PM
Doesn't matter how small.. from mowing yards and doing nails, to roofing and family owned restaurants.

BradR
06-11-2008, 04:31 PM
Not much of a business, but I run okshowpics.com and have sold a few things from it

probably not quite what you were asking about though

TeriOKC
06-11-2008, 04:56 PM
My husband and I own a mattress company. It's been in business since 1913, and we are only the 3rd owners.

PennyQuilts
06-11-2008, 05:37 PM
I'm a lawyer in private practice. I specialize in being a guardian ad litem . Let me JUST SAY that the gas prices are eating me alive because I don't get reimbursed for travel by simply passing on the cost. At the same time, today, I spent the afternoon working on a quilt so I shouldn't complain...

Kerry
06-11-2008, 05:57 PM
I was CEO of a small company for 2 years and I have been an independent consultant for the last 7 years. I don't know if I can go back to being a regular employee.

Watson410
06-11-2008, 06:17 PM
I work for my dad's company, which he plans on me taking over soon... Hopefully the next 5 years.

Karried
06-11-2008, 06:35 PM
We own a Commercial Construction Company.

Primarily we deal with Metal Stud Framing and Suspended Acoustical T-Bar Ceilings and various other applications.

It's basically taking a plain, basic building or office space, (or schools, churches, dentists/physician's offices, remodels, etc etc) from white box to the specifics of the contractor, leasee or owner based on their specific needs. We also contract out sheetrock and drywall labor to complete the projects.

Hubby does the pricing and ordering of the materials, deciphering the blueprints, estimating, giving bids and price quotes, and scheduling and supervising. He also hires and fires, and usually lays out and oversees all the jobs.

I do the paperwork, invoicing, bills, insurance, payroll, accounting and bookkeeping, (with lots of help)....