View Full Version : Taking Pictures

Kerry
01-07-2008, 05:23 PM
Hopefully you photo guys/gals can answer this for me. My wife got me a new digital camera for Christmas and tried it out today by photographing the office building I work in. I took the pictures from the surrounding streets, but it is all encompassed in a large office park. As I was getting done I was approached by a security officer from the building and he told me it was illegal to photograph the building because it was on private property. What are my legal rights when it comes to this? I don't want to cause any problems at work or anything but I am just curious.

BTW - She bought me a Nikon D40X and it took some really nice phots before I was stopped.

Architect2010
01-07-2008, 05:27 PM
Thats what I'm getting for my sixteen!!! Do you like it?

Oh and srry... I don't know anything about rights... =P.
Sorry to get off topic.

Kerry
01-07-2008, 05:52 PM
Well, I am just getting started with it and I know very little about photography but to answer the question - yes I like it. The D40X is just like the D40 but has 10 megpixels instead of the D40s 6 megapixels It will take about 3 photos per second in rapid fire mode. To get any faster she would have had to spend atleast $500 more. Even though these were my first "real" photos ouside they came out better than I expected. Once I learn to compose the shots I will start trying some of the different settings.

After the incident today I am a little discouraged though. I really like office buildings and was looking forward to taking photos of buildings and contrasting them with the surrounding natural environment. However, if I am going to be hasseled by security officers every time I pull the camera out it will take a lot of fun out of it.