View Full Version : Non-Custodial Parents

jacodenn
01-07-2008, 08:00 AM
I am very interested in contacting Non-Custodial Parents and hearing your stories. I would like to know how your life has changed since divorce and what kind of problems you may be having with exercising your rights to be with your children. Custodial Parents are also welcome to share.

jacodenn
01-07-2008, 10:31 AM
From Midtowner..."So as an advocate for NCP rights, what are the specific things you tend to advocate? In other words, from your perspective, what do you think is currently broken in our system?

I'm actually pretty interested in what you have to say. I'm currently a law student, and I plan to practice family law when I finish school."

Let me start by saying if I could do it over again (college), I would go into Family Law...as a Mediator.

There is one area of the law that seems to be lacking...enforcing the non-custodial parents right to "visitation" with their child(ren). Yes, there are avenues within the Court to file motions to Enforce Visitation. But guess what, in most cases the Custodial Parent (CP) will still interfere or deny those rights to the other parent. The law needs to include punitive measures...jail time. In my situation my ex-spouse is a client of DHS, and their policy concerning visitation is "hands off." They don't want to get involved in that matter. But miss a Child Support Payment, and DHS is all over you.

More later...

Midtowner
01-07-2008, 11:42 AM
I would argue that courts should have the authority to set the terms for, or completely cut off visitation when the courts determine that visitation on the NCP's terms is not in the best interest of the child.

How would you respond to that?

jacodenn
01-07-2008, 12:05 PM